Skip to main content
Please wait...

Subordinate Court

The History of Establishment

The History of Establishment

Under the Federation of Malaya Agreement 1948, the Subordinate Courts were established under the Subordinate Courts Act 1948. Effective from 1st June 1981, the adoption and application of the Subordinate Courts Act 1948 was extended further to Sabah and Sarawak.


Some important changes have also been made in relation to the Subordinate Courts throughout the country. The term of the First Class Magistrate's Court and the District Court are changed to the Sessions Court, while the Second Class Magistrate Court, Third Class Magistrate, Police Court, the Peak Courts and the Small Courts have been renamed as the Magistrate's Court.


In term of the title, the Magistrate's Court and First Class Magistrate were changed to the Session Court President who was later known as Session Court Judge, through amendments made under the Subordinate Courts (Amendment) Act 1987.